Happy half-birthday, Jagger!

Posted: April 20, 2012 in new puppy
Tags: , , , ,

Jagger is six months old tomorrow! He is turning into quite the character, and I have come to really, truly enjoy his spunk.

Jagger looking sly from under my chair

"I solemnly swear that I am up to no good."

Here’s a little video of what we’ve been up to lately:

It’s not quite as varied as I would have liked, but with two fun waves of family visits this spring and a not-so-fun bout of Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever (becoming an annual tradition for me… sigh) I am a bit behind in getting training done and getting it filmed. I have been working with Jagger on walking with his front feet on a ball, simultaneously picking up both front & rear feet on the same side of his body, and walking with his front feet in my Crocs. However, these tricks-in-progress look more like comedy routines right now instead of ready for primetime (unless it’s Stupid Human Tricks on Letterman).  We are also making steady progress on our “sit handsome,” “jump into my arms,” “four feet in a little bowl,” climbing on various unsteady objects, and heeling tricks.

We will be starting our first “real” agility class in just a few weeks! I’m super excited! It is a sports puppy foundation type of class. My main goals are for Jagger to get some much-needed practice at remaining focused on me while other dogs are running about, and to continue working on coming all the way to me in a variety of settings without getting stuck in the border collie crouch, staring at the toy or the tunnel.

Comments
  1. Jones says:

    Amazing progress! Yellow lab is pretty cute, too! 😉

  2. Scott Miller says:

    I love the mostly nekked women that come up as additional links to click at the end of your video…

Leave a Reply

